Small Grants Program



The Center for NeuroScience will offer annual pilot/seed grants for investigators in neuroscience. Our collaboration with the CCTSI will allow for a more centralized submission and review process. Acceptance of an award from the center requires contributing funds from faculty home departments.  

Innovation in Translational Neuroscience/Basic Neuroscience
Funding up to $30,000 ($20K from CNS, $10K from department) for one year to support data collection for a novel grant application in translational neuroscience research. 
Collaborative Research in Translational Neuroscience/Basic Neuroscience
Funding up to $80,000 ($54K from CNS, $26K from collaborating PIs departments, $20K from CCTSI) for one year to support novel collaborative translational neuroscience research between investigators in clinical and basic research departments or a collaborative project between basic research departments exclusively.  This award mechanism is not designed to support pre-existing collaborative projects. 
For additional details and to submit and application, please go to the CCTSI website.


Congratulations to the following investigators for receiving pilot awards this year.

CNS Translational Team Science Awards ($100K total; $54,000 from CNS, $20K from CCTSI, $26K from Department)

PI: Mark Dell'Acqua, PhD, Timothy Benke, MD, PhD & William Sather, PhD

Title: "Role of L-type Calcium Channels in Abnormal Synaptic Plasticity and Neurocognitive Disorders"

PI: Jody Tanabe, MD & Ellen Burnham, MD

Title" "Effects of acetate on brain perfusion and inflammatory markers in alcohol use disorder"

CNS Basic Team Science Award ($75K total; $50,000 from CNS, $25K from Department

PI: Cristin Welle, PhD & Abigail Person, PhD

Title: "Influence of cerebellum on primary motor cortex patterning and motor control"
CNS-Pilot Translational Research Independent Awards ($30K total: $20,000 from CNS)
PI: Peter Pressman, MD
Title: “Computational Speech Analysis in the Diagnosis of Neurocognitive Disorders ”
For a list of awardees in 2012-2017, please click here.